February 19, 2017

Today was a fun, productive and relaxing day.  I was going to take the kids out for a nice nature walk, but the weather was pretty bad.  I don’t mind the cloudiness, but it was raining a lot off and on, and when everyone was dressed and ready to go, it was raining pretty hard.  I want to spend more time outdoors, I know it will benefit the kids, and myself.  Even though that didn’t happen, I straightened up the apartment and relaxed a little while the kids played their Lego Harry Potter game.  I really enjoy watching the kids play, and love playing the game with them… as a mom I know I should cut their ‘playing time’ down, but as a gamer, I want to join in on the fun. Today I played with them for a bit, and it was fun.  🙂

kids-playing-potter

I have to say that I love the fact that the kids love Harry Potter, as much as I do.  Harry Potter is so nostalgic of my childhood.  It’s one of my all time favorite book series, and I love the movies.  It’s nice that we all have this in common, I couldn’t be happier that they love it too!  Listening to the music, watching the films, and reading the books (I started reading the first book to them) brings me back to a one of the happiest places in my life.  A time when my dad was alive and I, myself was a joyful, imaginative child.  A time when I didn’t have many worries, Harry Potter takes me back to that place.

After my husband came home, we all went out to return a movie, a library book, and to the grocery store.  We hadn’t been to the grocery store  all together in years, it was nice going as a family.  It was really sweet watching the excitement in the children’s eyes when they saw the garden department at Fred Meyer.  They looked at it as if it were a magical world that they couldn’t wait to explore.  It was beautiful seeing the giggle and play with the fountains, and touch the plants.  A child’s wonder is really something to behold.  I can almost remember being that age and the way I saw everything.  Everything looked so much more large than it was.

We ended up at my moms house and ordered pizza.  Which was really nice.  Juanito had fallen on the way to my moms in the car, and was asleep in my moms room, so Gabby and I had gotten some time to spend alone together which was really, really nice.  See the picture of him below sleeping with his book. 🙂

sleeping-juanito

I realize that in this day and age I catch myself looking at my phone far more often than I prefer to.  I took this opportunity to actually sit with her, play, and talk. I don’t do it enough, and I will change that.  First we played with my old toy microphone and sang together.  I asked her what she thought of during the day, and the first thing she mentioned to me was that she missed us.  She wishes we could go and have lunch with her everyday at school.  She likes school, but doesn’t like to be away from her dad, brother, and I.  🙂  Then she went on to talk about a girl from her art class named Grace that she was happy to not see again… and asked me about why that girl would talk about the most vile things… I told her that when I went to school I really enjoyed it, but not so much the aspect of interacting with some of the other students.  I told her that this is why I have a small circle of close friends.  Gabby then went on to tell me about everyone she has crushes on… all fictional characters.  She has a really big crush on Harry Potter, and was insistent that she didn’t love him anymore because she saw the part in the Lego game where he kissed Cho Chang and was furious.  I explained to her that she still loves him, but is just feeling jealous because she really likes him a lot.  She told me that she hates feeling jealous because it makes her feel really, really sad.  I hugged her and told her that it was okay, that most people often feel the same, and I too have felt that way before.  It was nice having girl talk.  I told her about my crush on Superman (Henry Cavill) as well.  🙂 We then took silly pictures and just enjoyed one another’s company.  Spending that one on one quality time with her was my favorite part about today.

We came home from my moms, and I tried to sit down and write my journal entry for today.  The kids were being rowdy, and kept coming in the bedroom.  Only because they wanted to be next to me.  🙂  The kids started talking to Siri on my phone, and Gabby said:  “Siri, I am distraught!”  Hearing your six year old say something like this shocks you, and makes you proud at the same time!  It was pretty adorable and made me laugh.  I asked her if she knew what distraught meant, to which she replied: “really, really upset”.  I asked her where she learned it from and she said: “Myrtle.”  Meaning, moaning Myrtle from Harry Potter.  This made me laugh even harder.  I am overjoyed by her expanding vocabulary.

Well, it is now after ten thirty, and I am beyond ready for bed.  Until tomorrow!

Author: Kelly Christine

My name is Kelly Flores, obviously. Former Soldier, currently working for the government and pursuing my creative hobbies. This blog is a variety blog, with the no particular primary focus yet, so I hope those who read it will take as much pleasure in reading it as I have taken in writing it. I am a recovering coffee addict, so the blog is titled appropriately. ;)

Leave a Reply

